Melinda Barta launches melindabarta.com

Melinda Barta decided to launch her new web site to coincide with the publication of her latest book, Custom Cool Jewelry. I’m hoping to get back the copy I loaned to my sister in San Diego; in the meantime, I’d like to recommend my favorite parts of the site:

Melinda’s Musings

This blog dates back to 2005, making it ancient by web standards, but who said I was keeping up with anything? I just discovered Melinda’s Musings, a blog that accompanied the publication of Melinda’s first book, Hip to Stitch. I’ve been enjoying my copy of the book for several years now, with its original, easy-to-follow projects that are “crafty chic.” Nested in MM are:

CraftSanity: podcasts; and where I read about postedstitches, where two quilters hold a monthly conversation. I had a similar fiber art pen pal idea during my design school days. I sent out a bunch of cloths with an inch or so of my handstitching, asking friends to add something and send back. Unfortunately, of the four embroidered cloths I sent out only one came back and then I started grad school and all hell broke loose so the idea got scrapped. I still think it’s a great idea.

Also: Melinda has a link on her friends page to Renie Breskin Adams’ web site and blog. I’ve loved and admired Renie for years and took a course at Penland from her in 1998. Renie is the Queen of the Detached Buttonhole Stitch, and a Master Embroiderer. Looking at Renie’s blog and cartoons brought back memories of her delightful silliness. And like the Dalai Lama, she seemed ready at any moment to break into hysterical giggling. I’m glad that R has brought her whacky whimsy to the web.

Below: a detail from the narrative embroidery I worked on in the course at Penland:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Melinda Barta launches melindabarta.com”

  1. Maninas Says:

    I love your work above. It looks magical.

  2. Debbie Cowan Says:

    You made a kit with “The Challenge” in the December/January 2009 issue titled “What An Inspiring Kit”! on page 17.

    If this kit is for sale, how and where can you purchase it?

    Thank you,
    Debbie Cowan

  3. animary Says:

    Debbie, I think you may have found an answer to your jewelry kit question (not my kit, but contact beadwork@interweave.com for more info.

Leave a Reply

